week #13 in an experimental year…

One of my rituals for each new year is to choose a word to influence me for the year.  My word for 2011 is EXPERIMENT. To support my EXPERIMENTAL focus, I commit to post the results of a new experiment each Sunday of this year.

My experiment this week was another one that was simple, but not easy.

I drink a LOT of coffee.  I love the flavor, smell and warmth of coffee.   I like caffeine too, even though I often drink decaf.

I’m not sure if my car will start without a cup of coffee in it.  When I run out, I’ll stop by a coffee shop or convenience store for refills.

Not this week though.  This week I committed to buy NO beverages.  If I wanted something to drink, I brought it from home and when I ran out – I did without.

Sounds simple, doesn’t it?

Not so much.

I made it though.

And here’s what I learned:

  • I liked being more conscience of my consumption – of coffee and … and will continue to be;
  • This consciousness helped me stop and ENJOY my coffee.  Before the experiment, I – well I just consumed.  I preferred enjoying;
  • Sometimes stopping in my favorite coffee shop is less about the coffee and more about the rush of stopping to people watch.  I’m going to keep doing that ~ unless I feel like a stalker or something;  and
  • Taking the time to prepare coffee before leaving home became a cool ritual.  So I’m going to keep doing that, too.

What’s the ‘coffee’ in your life and what have you noticed about it?

6 thoughts on “week #13 in an experimental year…

  1. Love your experiment and subsequent reflection! I surely hope you treated yourself to good coffee and creammer from home! You deserve only the best, you know. (I learned this from another friend….and it is so true!)

    I would have to say my “coffee” is lunch. I really enjoy packing up my own lunches with healthier options, fruits, and veggies. BUT knowing there are fast food options all over campus, allows me to be LAZY. It allows me to tell myself “I don’t have time to make my lunch today; I’ll just grab something quick at ______ when I get hungry.

    Like you discovered in your experiment, I enjoy my food much more when I put it together. And I eat healthier. And when I watch what I eat, I generally meet my Weight Watcher for that week. SOOOO……. I will join you this week in taking the time to enjoy my home packed lunches!!!

  2. Judi, how cool that your ‘coffee’ is LUNCH. thanks for helping me expand my view~~~

  3. Lisa, my home packed lunch beat any fast food option I could have had today. And it kept me from mindless eating.

    I hope you enjoyed your coffee today!!!!

  4. This definitely hits home as I read Lisa’s blog on restraint and self discipline!!
    I am now taking most foods out of my daily intake that do not honor my body!! I am the only one that knows my body and what works!! This has been another really cool lesson in ..it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks. I am sure you all know those people that want to push everything known to man on you, whether it is good for you or not. I can poliltely say “No thank-you” and have no guilt at all.
    Lisa, you are a beautiful role model in self discipline and knowing what is good for your mind, body and soul!!!

Leave a Reply

