unplugging…

By daybreak on Tuesday I’ll be outa here – for almost a week!

No e.mail, no Facebook, no FAXes and very limited TV or cell phone reception.  I DO admit that I’ll have my IPod.   It won’t be plugged in though. 🙂

Like most of you, I need to unplug from time to time.   In order to maintain aNy semblance of balance, I try to hide out and unplug for at least a few weeks a year.

I look forward to reading about your favorite ways/places to unplug (when I return).

In the meantime, be sure to tune in here this Sunday for  week #32 in an experimental year!

7 thoughts on “unplugging…

  1. Enjoy yourself; you deserve it! Read and relax. I admit, I would be as you; I would miss email, etc. But we need to remember what life is all about!

  2. Since beginning my doc degree, there really has been very little time if any to unplug. HOWEVER, I am defending my dissertation on May 19 and will then deal with my daughter’s high school graduation. To celebrate both occasions, we have rented a house on Ocean Isle for three weeks beginning July 17. I am anticipating major unplugging at that time!!!! I definitely need to recharge my batteries and I think OI will do the trick!!!

    Lisa, I hope you had a great time recharging on your personal retreat. This is something I think I need to build into my new post-doc and both children in college life!!! 🙂

  3. Have a wonderful, relaxing time! Emily is now home, so let her know when you’re ready for her! xxxooo!

  4. It was so interesting to read my comment from a year ago and to compare my “2010 unplugging” with my “2011 unplugging”.

    Last year when I was away at OIB, I thought I was unplugging, but spent my vacation getting my dissertation into final form to be accepted by the graduate school. I thought I was relaxing….but after experiencing OIB this year, I realize how wrong I was!!!

    This summer, I really UNPLUGGED! I didn’t watch TV, I checked FB just for fun, and then spent the rest of my 14 days just sitting and reading. I read 7 books in 14 days, primarily while sitting in a hammock, chair, looking out
    over the canal, and sipping a beverage of choice. I have FINALLY learned what it means to REALLY unplug and relax!!!
    And you know what, now that I am refreshed and rested, I actually feel ready to return to the realilty of my life! Thanks so much for this personal reflection time! Judi

  5. Enjoy all the unplugged moments! I just went to the San Juan Islands and got no reception and no wi-fi and had an unexpected yet wonderful Unplugged holiday!

  6. Judi & Fern ~ LOUD UnPlugged cheers to both of you wonderful women!
    thanks for lettingus know how YOU UnPlug~~~

Leave a Reply

