week #44 in an experimental year…

One of my rituals for each new year is to choose a word to influence me for the year.   My word for 2011 is EXPERIMENT.   To support my EXPERIMENTAL focus, I commit to post the results of a new experiment each Sunday of this year.

This week I tried to LISTEN more.

Sometimes that turned out to be hearing what people were actually saying.  Sometimes it turned out to be noticing sounds I’d never before noticed:

like the sounds of fingers sliding across guitar strings;

or ducks digging for grub in my yard;

or birds signalling their neighbors;

or a child telling her mom that she wondered why that lady needed to use a cane;

or a friend who simply needed to cry and be held.

This week has reminded me that listening can be even more important than watching.

What important stuff have you heard lately? 

5 thoughts on “week #44 in an experimental year…

  1. Yesterday I went to my first HD broadcast performance of the Metropolitan Opera at UNCW. The camera work is wonderful. As the camera hovered over the orchestra, I literally held my breath to hear the opening chords of Mozart’s Don Giovanni. It washed over me that I hoped to live a long time so that I could hear as much beautiful music like this as possible. Sometimes it IS the big, showy sounds that really take your breath away!

  2. I was able to listen to the sounds of the night with a new friend two weeks ago. Again, I was reminded of how noisy quiet really is……..
    crickets, frogs, night birds, traffic, mosquitos, crunching leaves

  3. The speed of my walking has slowed to a snail’s pace as I have learned to walk with a cane. It’s just amazing how much more I listen to what’s going on around me. Guess I figure that if it’s going to take me 15 min. to walk a very short distance that I might as well enjoy the journey!! What I’ve noticed the most are the birds….their different calls, even the sound their wings make as they fly overhead. And the wind – even a breeze – makes a noise…..and now that the leaves are letting go of the trees, it’s a different sound. It’s actually kind of soothing to get in a rhythm as I walk – not concentrating on how to walk just relaxing and letting it happen – something I used to take for
    granted.

  4. Penny, how magnificent!

    Judi, gotta LOVE those ‘quiet’ nights!

    and Marjorie, good for you for finding the + in using that cane. sounds like healing on several levels to me!

    thanks for chiming in, ya’ll~~~

Leave a Reply

