Yes, And ~ week 52

As I’ve mentioned here before, one of the richest memories of my life is how I used to get up at 5:30 in the morning with my dad. It was our time. We’d eat GrapeNuts and tell each other about the miracle(s) we’d seen the day before. I still try to like GrapeNuts and I still try to look for miracles every day.

Finding the miracles has been harder for me lately. I might notice (my word for 2015) lovely people, places, or things, but I’ve allowed circumstances, over which I feel powerless, to cloud my ability to recognize them as miracles. That’s gotta change.

Here’s how I’m going to change it. Yes/And. I completely accept the reality that YES there are many things going on the world, over which I have no control. AND while I continue to attend to what I can, I’m going to focus on the light, the good, the possible,along with the people doing the light, good, and possible.

YES, the divisions, gloom, fear, and darkness will still be around. My focus, however, will not be as glued to it, as it has been lately. I’m going to focus on the power of miracles. When I find myself tempted to dwell in the negative longer than is necessary, I’m going to seek out AND people, places, and things. AND people, places and things are the miracles Daddy and I used to share with each other daily. I’ll share some of them with you, here.

Even though there’s one more Sunday in 2017, this will be my final Yes, And post.  So, it seems only fitting to post a copy of my Christmas image for this year.   It was inspired by a reminder I keep on my nightstand, from poet, Mary Oliver.  To me and for me, it’s the ultimate AND to every “Yes, this this awful…”, I can come up with.  Hope it helps you remember, too.

favorite from Mary Oliver

I send you all ALL that is good.

lisa

2 thoughts on “Yes, And ~ week 52

  1. This quote and the beautiful card that you gifted me have been a helpful mantra to me during this past horrible week. Christmas Blessings to you dear Lisa!

  2. Thank you for sharing your unique insight each week. Even though I don’t usually comment, I look forward to reading your posts. I wish you a very merry Christmas season and can’t wait to see what you have in store for 2018!
    I would like to visit soon and take you out to lunch – hopefully sometime in January.
    Merry Christmas and much ❤️

Leave a comment